Navy Rules The Trinco Blu Regatta

The Navy yachtsmen of Sri Lanka took major honors in Trincomalee at the 8th Trinco Blu Sailing Regatta (TBSR). The regatta held in Trincomalee.

This event of this year featured the fleet of 43 sailboats, which is the record and more than 60 sailors competed in the championship and tried to win the Royal Colombo Yacht Club (RCYC) trophy of the Trinco Blu Challenge.

In the race Optimist Class was won by Zai Pestonjee, eh second position was secured by Jehan de Silva and the third position was taken by Sahanya Wevita.

In another race Laser Class, the first position was secured P.D.D.S. Rajapaksa, who is from the Navy, the second position was secured by P.N.P.K. Dissanayake and the third position were taken by Devin Goonewardena.

In the Enterprise Class (EC) race, the first position was secured by W.A.R. Nishantha of Navy and N.G.M.U. Gunawardhana and teammates K.C. de Soyza and W.M.C. Marambe came second.

In the championship N.G.M.U Gunawardhana and W.A.R Nishantha secured the first position overall first-place and declared as the winners of the Regatta, on the other hand A.S.K. de Soyza and J.M.P.L. Jayasuriya, in association with K.C. de Soyza and W.M.C. Marambe was declared second and third winners overall. 

The interesting thing to note in the championship was that all the overall winners of all races were from the navy of Sri Lanka.

The awards were given to the winner by the secretary of Sri Lanka Navy Sailing Club (SLNSC) – Commander C.T. Gunaratne, Head of Marketing and Sales- Leisure Resorts at Cinnamon Resorts and Hotels, Romesh Walpola and Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, General Manager Conrad De La Motte.

The event was a success and had the participation of some of the major sailors. This was the eighth time this event has been organized consecutively.